JOSEPH HAYDN

107 SINFONIE

powered by

Kultur Niederösterreich


Parkhotel Pörtschach

73

"La chasse"

D major

Order by Hoboken
Hob.I: 73
Chronological order
77
Key
D major
Title
"La chasse"
Period
Late Esterház-sonfonias 1774 to 1782; The perdiof of the „opera-Symphonies“
Date of composition
1781
Customer
Prince Nikolaus I. Joseph Esterházy
Number of movements
4
Authenticity proof
Entwurfs-Katalog
Score edition

Sinfonien um 1780/81
Herausgeber: Heide Volckmar-Waschk und Stephen C. Fisher; Reihe I, Band 10; G. Henle Verlag München

Symphony No. 73 in D major ('La Chasse')
This, the latest symphony in this volume, most resembles Haydn's more familiar works from 1782 on. In the massive slow introduction the repeated wind band chords in quavers that accompany the slowly moving initial idea eventually lead to a discrete four note upbeat-downbeat motive, which 'takes over' during the final dominant pedal, ff then piano. The main Allegro theme begins with the identical motive, accompanied by an upbeat variant of the original wind quavers. In a densely argued thematische Arbeit of the sort associated with the contemporaneous String Quartets, op.33, these related motives dominate the entire movement, which thus grows out of its introduction more organically than any other in Haydn until the 'Oxford' Symphony of 1789. However, the Allegro theme begins tentatively: on the subdomin-ant, working round to the tonic only in its fourth bar; and in the violins alone, the full band not entering until the counterstatement. The result is a structural dynamism: the initial instability 'forces' the music ahead, by the time the full band states the tonic we are already in the transition to the second group and so forth. The consequences continue throughout, most obviously in the development, where Haydn's inimitable silences combine with remarkable harmonic reinterpretations of the three-note upbeat motive (C.F. Cramer, in a laudatory review from 1783, referred to 'difficulties and unexpected progressions that require trained and correct players, and cannot be entrusted merely to good luck'). In a Beethovenian stroke, the recapitulation enters not tentatively, but as a ff climax.
The Andante is based on Haydn's own Lied Gegenliebe, Hob.XXVIa:16, composed in the spring or summer of 1781 but not published until 1784. Except for the arrangement of the keyboard accompaniment for strings, the initial statement is a literal transcription, including the interpolations and postlude for keyboard alone.
The 'motivically' organised minuet resembles that of the String Quartet, op. 33 no. 6, in the same key. It is based on a theme in 1 + 1+2 rhythm, with a characteristic offbeat, lower-neighbour motive in the first two bars that seems derived from a short-short-long motive in the slow introduction(!).The retransition to the reprise lengthens the phrasing to 5+5, while in the reprise proper the chromatic lower neighbours are transferred into the bass, providing an even clearer reminiscence of the introduction. The trio is a duet for oboe and bassoon (the flute eventually joining in); the apparently regular eight-bar phrases are subdivided in unpredictable ways.
The finale is based on the overture to Haydn's La fedeltá premiata, premiered in February 1781; it included trumpets and timpani (omitted in the primary symphony dissemination) and had no repeat of the exposition, which Haydn added later in the autograph. A key character in the opera is Diana, goddess of the hunt; Haydn accordingly based his overture on the standard hunting 'topic' (fast 6/8 with predominantly triadic 'horn' motives, as in Mozart's 'Hunt' Quartet, K458 and Haydn's own 'Hunting' Chorus in The Seasons). Indeed, a theme for the winds (entering late in the first group, after a pause on the dominant) quotes a well-known traditional hunting call, used in various chasse compositions through the century; in hunting manuals it figures as I'ancienne Vue; that is, the first sighting of the stag.
For the rest, the movement is one of Haydn's most exhilarating: the relentless quaver motion and continual variety of 'topics' yield only occasionally to more relaxed harmonies and piano (still with the quavers underneath). At the end, when I'ancienne Vue returns as a sort of coda (it was withheld from the recapitulation), we expect a grandiose wind-up in the same style; what a surprise when, at the first cadence thereafter, the music suddenly becomes even softer (perden-dosi) and, following a subdominant colouring over a tonic pedal, expires like the stage in peace.

Analysis

Analyse

Analysis oft he movements

1. movement
77,1a
 
77,1b
Title oft he movement
Adagio / Allegro
Key
D major
Form
major
2. movement
77,2
Title oft he movement
Andante
Key
G major
Form
ternary songform
3. movement
77,3
Title oft he movement
Menuetto Allegretto / Trio
Key
D-D major
4. movement
77,4
Title oft he movement
La Chasse Presto
Key
D major
Form
major
Duration
appr. 24 min.

Musicians

Musiker

Musicians

Due to the unclear time of origin of most of Haydn’s symphonies - and unlike his 13 Italian operas, where we really know the exact dates of premieres and performances - detailed and correct name lists of the orchestral musicians cannot be given.  As a rough outline, his symphony works can be divided into three temporal blocks. In the first block, in the service of Count Morzin (1757-1761), in the second block, the one at the court of the Esterházys (1761-1790 but with the last symphony for the Esterház audience in 1781) and the third block, the one after Esterház (1782-1795), i.e. in Paris and London.  Just for this middle block at the court of the Esterházys 1761-1781 (the last composed symphony for the Esterház audience) respectively 1790, at the end of his service at the court of Esterház we can choose Haydn’s most important musicians and “long-serving companions” and thereby extract an "all-time - all-stars orchestra".

Direction
Joseph Haydn
Instrumentation
1|2|0|1 – 2|(2) – (1) – Str.
Cast oft he orchestra
1|2|0|1 – 2|(2) – (1) – Str.
Cast
Flute Franz Sigl 1761-1773
Flute Zacharias Hirsch 1777-1790
Oboe Michael Kapfer 1761-1769
Oboe Georg Kapfer 1761-1770
Oboe Anton Mayer 1782-1790
Oboe Joseph Czerwenka 1784-1790
Bassoon Johann Hinterberger 1761-1777
Bassoon Franz Czerwenka 1784-1790
Bassoon Joseph Steiner 1781-1790
Horn (played violin) Franz Pauer 1770-1790
Horn (played violin) Joseph Oliva 1770-1790
Timpani or Bassoon Caspar Peczival 1773-1790
Violin Luigi Tomasini 1761-1790
Violin (leader 2. Vl) Johann Tost 1783-1788
Violin Joseph Purgsteiner 1766-1790
Violin Joseph Dietzl 1766-1790
Violin Vito Ungricht 1777-1790
Violin (most Viola) Christian Specht 1777-1790
Cello Anton Kraft 1779-1790
Violone Carl Schieringer 1768-1790

Medias

Medien

Music

Antal Dorati

Joseph Haydn
The Symphonies
Philharmonia Hungarica
33 CDs, aufgenommen 1970 bis 1974, herausgegeben 1996 Decca (Universal)

1. movement
77,1a
 
77,1b
2. movement
77,2
3. movement
77,3
4. movement
77,4



Score

73









Haydn13
×

SINFONIE 107

1757

1. Periode
Hob.I:1

1757-1759

1. Periode
Hob.I:37
Hob.I:18
Hob.I:2

1757-1760

1. Periode
Hob.I:4
Hob.I:27

1758-1760

1. Periode
Hob.I:10
Hob.I:20

1761/1762

1. Periode
Hob.I:36
Hob.I:33

1771

4. Periode
Hob.I:52
Hob.I:42

1773/1774

4. Periode
Hob.I:50

1774/1775

5. Periode
Hob.I:68

1776

5. Periode
Hob.I:61

1777/1778

5. Periode
Hob.I:53 "L'Impériale"

1778/1779

5. Periode
Hob.I:71

1780

5. Periode
Hob.I:74
Hob.I:62

1781

5. Periode
Hob.I:73 "La chasse"

1787

8. Periode
Hob.I:89

-1788

8. Periode
Hob.I:88

1788

8. Periode
Hob.I:90
Hob.I:91

1789

8. Periode
Hob.I:92 "Oxford"

1791/1792

9. Periode
Hob.I:98

1793

10. Periode
Hob.I:99

1794

10. Periode
Hob.I:102

OPER 13

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I. Periode
Acide
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
Lo speziale
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
Le pescatrici
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
L'infedeltà delusa
 
I. Periode
L'infedeltà delusa
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
L'incontro improvviso
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
Il mondo della luna
 
II. Periode
 
III. Periode
 
III. Periode
La fedeltà premiata
 
III. Periode
Orlando paladino
 
III. Periode
Armida
 
III. Periode
La vera costanza II

Giuseppe Haydn

107 SINFONIÆ

powered by

Kultur Niederösterreich, Parkhotel Pörtschach, Haydn Stiftung

73

"La chasse"

D-Dur

Ordnung nach Hoboken
Hob.I: 73
Chonologische Ordnung
77
Tonart
D-Dur
Titel
"La chasse"
Periode
Späte Esterház-Sinfonien 1774 bis 1782; Die Zeit der „Opern-Sinfonien“
Kompositionsdatum
1781
Auftraggeber
Fürst Nikolaus I. Joseph Esterházy
Anzahl der Sätze
4
Echtheitsbeleg
Entwurfs-Katalog
Partitur-Ausgabe

Sinfonien um 1780/81
Herausgeber: Heide Volckmar-Waschk und Stephen C. Fisher; Reihe I, Band 10; G. Henle Verlag München

Hob.I:73 Symphonie in D-Dur ("La Chasse")
Dieses Werk, das von den in dieser Folge enthaltenen Symphonien das zuletzt entstandene ist, weist die größte Ähnlichkeit mit den ab 1782 komponierten, vertrauteren Werken Haydns auf. In der massiven langsamen Einleitung fuhren die Achtel-Akkordwiederholungen der Bläsergruppe, welche die sich langsam bewegende Anfangsidee begleiten, schließlich zu dem diskreten auf-/abtaktigen Motiv aus vier Noten, das sich in der abschließenden dominantischen Ostinatofigur "durchsetzt", die zuerst im Fortissimo und dann im Piano vorgetragen wird. Das Hauptthema des Allegro beginnt mit demselben (identischen) Motiv und wird von einer auftaktigen Variante der ursprünglichen Achtel der Bläser begleitet. In einer intensiv durchdachten thematischen Arbeit, in der Art des zeitgleich entstandenen Streichquartetts, op. 33, dominieren diese verwandten Motive den ganzen Satz, der sich, bis zur "Oxford-Symphonie" von 1789, auf diese Art organischer aus seiner Einleitung entwickelt als irgendein anderer Satz bei Haydn. Das Allegro-Thema beginnt jedoch zurückhaltend: von der Subdominante ausgehend, gelangt es erst in seinem vierten Takt zur Tonika; die Violinen spielen es allein, und das volle Orchester setzt nicht vor der Beantwortung ein. Dies hat eine strukturelle Dynamik zum Ergebnis: die anfängliche Instabilität "treibt" die Musik vorwärts, und wenn das volle Orchester in der Tonika spielt, befinden wir uns bereits in der Überleitung zur zweiten Gruppe — und so weiter. Dies setzt sich durchgängig fort, am deutlichsten in der Durchführung, wo die unnachahmlichen Pausen Haydns sich mit bemerkenswerten harmonischen Wiederaufnahmen des auftaktigen Motivs aus drei Noten vereinen. (C. F. Cramer spricht in einer lobenden Besprechung von 1783 von "Schwierigkeiten und unerwarteten Fortschreitungen, die geübte und korrekte Spieler erfordern und die nicht dem Zufall überlassen werden können".) Im Stil Beethovens beginnt die Reprise nicht verhalten, sondern in einem Fortissimo-Höhepunkt.
Das Andante beruht auf Haydns eigenem Lied Gegenliebe, Hob. XXVIa: 16, das im Frühling oder Sommer 1781 komponiert, jedoch nicht vor 1784 veröffentlicht wurde. Mit Ausnahme der Bearbeitung der Klavierbegleitung für Streicher, besteht die anfängliche Vorstellung in einer wörtlichen Transkription, welche die Einschübe und das Nachspiel für Klavier allein berücksichtigt.
Das "motivisch" strukturierte Menuett gleicht dem aus dem Streichquartett, op. 33, Nr. 6, das in derselben Tonart steht. Es beruht auf einem Thema in einem 1 + 1+2 Rhythmus und besitzt ein charakteristisches auftaktiges, schrittweise steigendes Motiv in den ersten beiden Takten, das anscheinend von einem kurz—kurz—lang-Motiv in der langsamen Einleitung abgeleitet ist (!). Die Rückführung zur Reprise verlängert die Phrasierung in 5 + 5, während in der eigentlichen Reprise die chromatisch tieferen Nachbartöne in den Baß verlegt sind und eine noch deutlichere Erinnerung an die Einleitung hervorbringen. Das Trio besteht aus einem Duo für Oboe und Fagott (die Flöte tritt später hinzu); die anscheinend regelmäßigen achttaktigen Phrasen sind immer wieder auf eine unvorhersehbare Art und Weise unterteilt.
Das Finale beruht auf der Ouvertüre zu Haydns La fedeltà premiata, die im Februar 1781 uraufgeführt wurde; es war mit Trompeten und Pauken besetzt (sie fehlen in der hauptsächlichen Verbreitung der Symphonie) und besaß keine Wiederholung der Exposition, die Haydn später im Autograph hinzufügte. Eine Schlüsselrolle in der Oper ist die der Diana, der Göttin der Jagd; Haydn baute seine Ouvertüre entsprechend auf dem üblichen Jagdmotiv auf (schneller ó/8-Takt mit vorherrschenden Dreiklang-Hornmotiven, wie sie in Mozarts "Jagdquartett", KV 458 und Haydns eigenem "Jagdchor" aus den Jahreszeiten zu finden sind). Ein Thema für die Bläser (die gegen Ende der ersten Gruppe, und zwar nach einer Fermate auf der Dominante einsetzen) zitiert einen bekannten traditionellen Jagdruf, der das Jahrhundert hindurch in verschiedenen "Chasse"-Kompositionen verwendet wurde; in Handbüchern zur Jagd taucht er als "l'ancienne Vue" auf, das bedeutet das erste Sichten des Hirsches.
Im Übrigen zählt der Satz zu den erfrischendsten von Haydn: die unerbittliche Achtelbewegung und die ständig verschiedenen "Sujets" fuhren nur gelegentlich zu ruhigeren Harmonien und zu Pianostellen (immer noch mit den Achteln darunter). Am Schluß, bei der Rückkehr der "ancienne Vue" als eine Art Coda (sie wurde in der Reprise vorenthalten), erwarten wir eine grandiose Steigerung im selben Stil; es kommt jedoch zu einer Überraschung, denn die Musik wird bei der ersten folgenden Kadenz plötzlich sogar noch leiser (perdendosi) und erschöpft sich, nach einer Subdominantfärbung über einem Tonika-Orgelpunkt — wie ein Hirsch? — in Frieden.
©James Webster

Analyse

Analyse

Analyse der Sätze

1. Satz
77,1a
 
77,1b
Satzbezeichnung
Adagio / Allegro
Tonart
D-Dur
Form
Sonatenform
2. Satz
77,2
Satzbezeichnung
Andante
Tonart
G-Dur
Form
dreiteilige Liedform
3. Satz
77,3
Satzbezeichnung
Menuetto Allegretto / Trio
Tonart
D-D-Dur
4. Satz
77,4
Satzbezeichnung
La Chasse Presto
Tonart
D-Dur
Form
Sonatenform
Spieldauert gesamt
ca. 24 Min.

Musiker

Musiker

Musiker

Anders als etwa bei den Opern lassen sich bei den Sinfonien, auf Grund ihrer unklaren zeitlichen Zuordnung, vollständige Besetzungs- bzw. Namenslisten der Orchestermusiker nicht anführen. Und es ist überhaupt nur bei einer der drei „Sinfonie-Schaffens-Phasen“ möglich, nämlich der mittleren Phase, jener am Hofe der Esterházys (1761-1781 letzte Sinfonie für das Esterház-Publikum) respektive 1790). Bei der ersten Phase, im Dienste des Grafen Morzin, also vor Esterházy (1757-1761) und der dritten Phase, jener danach (1782-1795) ist es überhaupt nicht möglich. Im Übrigen lässt sich die dritte Phase wiederum in drei Abschnitte gliedern: Jenen, in dem Haydn erstmals für ein „anderes“ Publikum als seines am Hofe Esterház komponierte (1782-1784), den Pariser Sinfonien (1785-1786) und den Londoner Sinfonien bis (1791-1795).
Namens- bzw. Gehaltslisten – und aus jenen wurde die Orchesterbesetzung „extrahiert“ - existieren also nur aus der Schaffensphase im Dienst der beiden Fürsten Esterházy, also von 1761 bis 1782.
Daher werden „nur“ jene Musiker angeführt, die im Dienste der beiden Fürsten Esterházy standen und mit Sicherheit über einen längeren Zeitraum in Haydns Orchester wirkten, quasi ein „All-Time – All-Stars-Orchester“. Ich behielt bei den betreffenden Musikern die Jahreszahl „-1790“ bei, da mit Sicherheit Haydn auch nach 1782 seine Sinfonien am Hofe zu Gehör brachte.

Leitung
Joseph Haydn
Orchestrierung
1|2|0|1 – 2|(2) – (1) – Str.
Besetzung Orchester
1|2|0|1 – 2|(2) – (1) – Str.
Besetzung
Flöte Franz Sigl 1761-1773
Flöte Zacharias Hirsch 1777-1790
Oboe Michael Kapfer 1761-1769
Oboe Georg Kapfer 1761-1770
Oboe Anton Mayer 1782-1790
Oboe Joseph Czerwenka 1784-1790
Fagott Johann Hinterberger 1761-1777
Fagott Franz Czerwenka 1784-1790
Fagott Joseph Steiner 1781-1790
Horn (spielte Violine) Franz Pauer 1770-1790
Horn (spielte Violine) Joseph Oliva 1770-1790
Pauke oder Fagott Caspar Peczival 1773-1790
Violine Luigi Tomasini 1761-1790
Violine (Stimmführer 2. Vl) Johann Tost 1783-1788
Violine Joseph Purgsteiner 1766-1790
Violine Joseph Dietzl 1766-1790
Violine Vito Ungricht 1777-1790
Violine (meist Viola) Christian Specht 1777-1790
Violoncello Anton Kraft 1779-1790
Violone Carl Schieringer 1768-1790

Medien

Medien

Musik

Antal Dorati

Joseph Haydn
The Symphonies
Philharmonia Hungarica
33 CDs, aufgenommen 1970 bis 1974, herausgegeben 1996 Decca (Universal)

1. Satz
77,1a
 
77,1b
2. Satz
77,2
3. Satz
77,3
4. Satz
77,4



Partitur

73









Haydn13

107 SINFONIÆ

1757

1. Periode
Hob.I:1

1757/1758

1. Periode
Hob.I:37

1757-1759

1. Periode
Hob.I:18
Hob.I:2

1757-1760

1. Periode
Hob.I:4
Hob.I:27

1758-1760

1. Periode
Hob.I:10
Hob.I:20

1761/1762

1. Periode
Hob.I:36
Hob.I:33

1766

4. Periode

1771

4. Periode
Hob.I:52
Hob.I:42

1774/1775

5. Periode
Hob.I:68

1776

5. Periode
Hob.I:61

1777/1778

5. Periode
Hob.I:53 "L'Impériale"

1778/1779

5. Periode
Hob.I:71

1780

5. Periode
Hob.I:74
Hob.I:62

1781

5. Periode
Hob.I:73 "La chasse"

1787

8. Periode
Hob.I:89

-1788

8. Periode
Hob.I:88

1788

8. Periode
Hob.I:90
Hob.I:91

1789

8. Periode
Hob.I:92 "Oxford"

1793

10. Periode
Hob.I:99

1794

10. Periode
Hob.I:102

1796

1799

1801

13 OPERÆ

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I. Periode
Acide
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
La canterina
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
Lo speziale
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
Le pescatrici
 
I. Periode
 
I. Periode
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
 
II. Periode
Il mondo della luna
 
II. Periode
 
III. Periode
 
III. Periode
La fedeltà premiata
 
III. Periode
Orlando paladino
 
III. Periode
Armida
 
III. Periode
La vera costanza II
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

5 ORATORIÆ